Oh my, no homework!!

 Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. ~James 1:17 NIV

God has really been pouring blessings into my life recently. I know He always does, but sometimes I am to obsessed over all the things I can’t control in life. You see, I’ve had a long week. It seems like one after another things are going wrong and overwhelming me. My life as I go from teen to adult is chaotic, and it is taking a lot of adjusting to. However, I have been neglecting to sit back and observe the blessing that God has hidden in the mess. It has taken a miracle to get my attention: no homework!!

Now don’t laugh! It truly is a miracle that with 2 AP classes and 5 other classes I can come home without a backpack.  Both of my AP teachers cancelled homework for tonight, and the fact that BOTH classes did on the same day has the chances of 1 in 216351354543.5432543245. But God did it to grab my attention and so that I can finally calm down so I can listen to God’s still small voice for once.

And as I calm down, I realize God really has been pulling the strings for me. All the situations I was worried about all worked out with ease. My boyfriend was able to make arrangements to come home for the weekend from Bible college to attend my homecoming dance, and I am so excited just to simply sit with him in church again. Also, my brothers are both away, leaving me to a quiet house with just my sister. And, of course, I have time to blog!!

I think I am going to set an alarm at the end of the day, to remind me to sit back and think about all the blessings God has placed on my life. I can be so selfish somedays and forget to simply praise my God, even if it is just a short hallelujah!

God bless,

Lillian ❤

One thought on “Oh my, no homework!!

  1. thebridgechicago says:

    Um, I love this post because I love not having homework. I’m a few years out of grad school and not having homework is still one of the best things in life. Anyway, I love that you’re praising God for that! I think He love it that we praise him for things we are truly thankful for and it’s great you are looking for thankfulness.

    -Tasha, The Bridge Chicago

Leave a Reply

