The Importance of Baby-steps

ImageI had one movie and one song that made my Christmas as a child and I still smile and sing it all the time. The song is “Put one foot in front of the other” from Santa Claus is coming to town. During the song, Kris Kringle is trying to teach Mr. Winter Warlock how to walk after he lost his evil powers because he was, well, not evil anymore. download

Put one foot in front of the other

And soon you’ll be walking across the floo-oo-oor!

Put one foot in front of the other

And soon you’ll be walking out the door!

Well, this is what my life feels like now, in some odd and explainable way. I have gotten distracted from God and got a little too busy, but I’ve realized that now. I want to get back to the level I once was. And I’m taking little itty bitty baby steps each and every day back to where I need to be.

It doesn’t always feel like much, however.I get frustrated. I get impatient. Like most people of my generation, I have a keen dislike of things that don’t happen overnight. And I’m working on it.

But for now I am learning the importance of these little steps I’m taking. You got to start somewhere, right? It’s better than no progress at all, right? first steps

I might be making small steps, but I know that one day I’ll have made a big progress. I just gotta keep putting one foot in front of the other, and soon i’ll be walking out the door.

So right now, I’m ending my days each night with a question to myself: What did I do today to bring myself closer to God?

This is my new years resolution. To remember that baby steps matter too. Just keep moving forward Lillian. Keep going.

God bless and a happy new year!

~Lillian

Leave a Reply

