David’s Dance (2 Samuel 6:12-23)

I remember sitting in the seats of my church when I was young and feeling God call me to go up to the altar call. Still a timid, lukewarm Christian, I was scared to go up in front of everyone and praise the Lord. I look back now and wish I had heard the story of unashamed David who danced for the Lord.

…So David went to bring up the ark of God… to the City of David with rejoicing… Wearing a linen ephod, David was dancing before the Lord with all his might… ~2Sa 6:12-14

David was thankful for the blessings God had given him so much that he didn’t hold anything back when praising Him. He wanted to worship the Lord with his movements and let the Spirit lead him. He didn’t care what his people would think, he knew that God’s opinion was the only one that mattered.

I look back and realize how silly it was to be ashamed to praise God. He had done so much for me; not only does He bless me daily, but He also sent his Son for me. Why should I be scared to raise my hands to him? Raising my hands is nothing compared to what David did. Don’t hold back when praising God. Remember all that He has done for you and give your life in worship to Him

David’s wife, on the other hand, was not pleased with him:

 As the ark of the Lord was entering the City of David, Michal daughter of Saul watched from a window. And when she saw King David leaping and dancing before the Lord, she despised him in her heart… When David returned home to bless his household, Michal… said, “How the king of Israel has distinguished himself today, going around half-naked in full view of the slave girls of his servants as any vulgar fellow would!” ~2Sa 6:16-20

Michal grew up royal, her father was the previous king and now she was the queen. Growing up, she was probably taught that appearances are everything. So when she saw David dancing wildly, she was disgusted, even if it was for God. She had put other people’s opinions of her above the opinion of God. However, David did not let her rebuke him for praising the Lord:

David said to Michal, “It was before the Lord, who chose me…I will celebrate before the Lord. I will become even more undignified than this, and I will be humiliated in my own eyes. But by these slave girls you spoke of, I will be held in honor.” ~2Sa 6:21-22

David has his priorities straight- God comes first. David knew he had pleased God and if anyone thought he was a fool for praising Him that was their problem. David was not ashamed of his love for God.

Verse 23 also tells us that Michal never gave David any children because of this. God didn’t bless Michal because she was ashamed of Him. Don’t miss God’s blessing! God always blesses those who dedicate themselves to Him in every way they can. 

When we give our all to God, there is always going to be someone criticizing us for out passion. They might say we take our love for God “too far”. But remember what David said to his wife: We owe it all to Him, so we need to give our all to Him. It doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks, God is happy with us and that’s all that matters, and He will surely bless us for our passion!

2 Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship. ~Romans 12:1

Similar Posts: 

4 thoughts on “David’s Dance (2 Samuel 6:12-23)

  1. debbestillandlisten says:

    I remember being in a church that raising or clapping your hands to the music was frowned upon. I still did it anyways but the looks were well not deadly but close to it. You know what I mean? Worship and praise him with your whole heart no matter whose watching.

Leave a Reply

