5 Things I Learned the Past 4 Months at Bible College

Me squished in the back seat with all my stuff on move-in day.

Me squished in the back seat with all my stuff on move-in day.

I will post more on these things later. I just want to get these things out and explain them more when I have a clearer mind.

1. Communication is not just essential for love relationships- but for every relationship as well. 

From learning to communicate with new friends to disputes with roomates, I’ve learned that in order to get things done and to achieve what you need, you need to communicate. Gossip, hinting, and nagging is not going to get anyone anywhere.

Therefore, if you are offering your gift at the altar and there remember that your brother or sister has something against you, leave your gift there in front of the altar. First go and be reconciled to them; then come and offer your gift. ~Matthew 5:23 NIV

2. Being engaged is… weird. 

I’ve been engaged to my best friend for 6 months (oh, goodness, has it really been that long?!). And it’s odd… not with my fiance but with others. Suddenly you are the go to gal for relationship advice, even if you are only 18. Simultaneously, people start chucking advice at you. And if you mention that you are waiting till after college to actually get married, you are automatically insane.

3. Life gets harder, and easier. 

I really enjoy living in the dorms. It’s quiet, I never have to wait for the bathroom, and all my friends are a floor away. I never have to watch children and I can be alone whenever I want.

But the enemy is very angry once you get to Bible College. And he’s gonna pull out all the stops to try to get you to leave.

On the day I called, you answered me;
my strength of soul you increased. ~Psalm 138:3 ESV

4. Being Transparent is Important

I have always been told showing emotions and sharing struggles is a sign of weakness. But suffering alone is not be an option. God doesn’t want us to bottle everything up, He wants us to live freely. And living freely doesn’t include wearing a mask or hiding skeletons in the closet.

Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective. ~James 5:16

5. And most of all… God’s not finished with me yet.

I have a lot of struggles. I am still learning who I am. My life is complete changing. But you know what, that’s okay. Because I serve a God who is never surprised and never stops.

Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. ~Philippians 1:6

Comment your thoughts and remind me to explain further! Thank you for reading!

God bless

Lillian ❤

3 thoughts on “5 Things I Learned the Past 4 Months at Bible College

  1. Kaiti Schaffner says:

    Lovely post! I haven’t been on WordPress in a while and was just trying to catch up when I read this! YOU’RE ENGAGED!!!! OH MY GOSH!!!! That’s awesome!!! I’m so happy for you!!!! Hope you are doing well at Bible College, and I love your profile pic! So pretty! 🙂 -Kaiti

Leave a Reply

