For the Days You Feel Overwhelmed

overwhelmedFeeling overwhelmed is a pretty common thing for us young adults. Trying to learn how to live out new “adult” lives, being swamped with college work, money being low, anxiety being high, living away from home for the first time- sometimes we just feel surrounded by worry or even failure.

But Christ doesn’t want us to live like that. God gave us the power to live above worry and troubles; to be in the world but not of it (Col. 3:2). Jesus came and provided a better life for us, one free from the bondage of being overwhelmed.

Now, please do not hear what I am not saying. I am not saying as Christians we should be unrealistically happy all hours of the day. I am not saying that if you feel overwhelmed you are not “Christian” enough. I am not saying nothing should bother you. What I am saying is that we don’t have to let things rule us. We may still feel overwhelmed, but we don’t have to be overwhelmed (read more on that here). Life is still the same but we are not. Through Christ we are free.

Now that we know that we don’t have to live like this, let us learn how we can live differently. The secret to rising above the overwhelming feelings we experience is summed up in three words: Focus on God. 

How did Peter walk on the water? He focused on God. The Bible says Peter walked on the water easily until “he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!” (Matt. 14:30). When believers in Israel were being forced to chose between Judaism and Christ, the writer of Hebrews told them, “We must focus our eyes on Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith.” (Heb. 12:2). We have to take our eyes off of things of this world, and set our vision on God. (For more on this, see Colossians 3).

Start off with simply diving into your time with God. Pray, read the Bible, and spend time listening to God. Go to a secret place with Him, where there is no distractions. As you focus on Him, He will help you when you feel overwhelmed. He will give you a state of peace beyond what you can understand (Phil 4:7). He will help you prioritize, guiding you to what you can let go of and what you can pursue (Psalms 25:4-5). Put God first in all you do, and the rest will fall into place. (Matt 6:33)

9 thoughts on “For the Days You Feel Overwhelmed

  1. allycarter1 says:

    One of my friends once told me that the early twenties are the hardest, you’ve all the responsibity and none of the experience! I think this is true, but at least you can get away with making mistakes!

    • lillianl17 says:

      I honestly feel that last part is not entirly true. I feel if we make a mistake we are told that we “have to learn” and then they never expect you to do well again.

      • allycarter1 says:

        That’s a shame, that you feel like that, I find the best way to learn is by making mistakes, and sometimes I have to make them a few times.
        I bet the people who tell you that never made any mistakes of their own!

  2. Michaela M. says:

    I am not in college yet, but I’m getting really close. I’m starting my first job, taking on more responsibility, and trying to get ready for college which altogether can get very overwhelming. Thank you for this reminder, I definitely needed it!

  3. joseph elon lillie says:

    Amen Lillian. The ministry can be an overwhelming place if we choose to look at it and not at the Lord who called us into it. I still get overwhelmed sometimes by the sea of need. Then I call myself back to the place of prayer and remember Jesus is the Savior. I am just one vessel He rides in.

Leave a Reply

